Firefox colour cast

BidC

Question

Hi all,

I recently downloaded Firefox and today managed to upload a portfolio header (still couldn't use the 'download' stats feature), but one thing I noticed is that my images display with a colour cast that they don't have in Safari.

Has anyone else noticed this ?

I have now removed FF as it's taking up too much disk space, and assume that most pic editors use Safari (or a Windows browser), but am curious as to how others find it.

I have LR set to sRGB, rather than Adobe RGB.

Bridget

15 answers to this question

7 minutes ago, spacecadet said:

I'm no expert, but all browsers should have identical colour. Could you have colour management turned off for some reason?

BTW my FF takes up less that 200MB, hardly a system breaker.

Never checked colour management - so I'm guessing that means each browser does its own thing (so to speak) unless they are set to conform ? I'm a bit puzzled .. the mac display  is set to LCD calibrated (whatever that means ...)

My system is chocabloc - I only have to open PS (with LR) and it tells me 'there is very little disk space' and it can start closing programmes, so FF as well is not necessary. I'm not sure how having another browser helps tbh. 

Edited by BidC

I don't know how to fix it because I've never had to, and I know nothing about Macs.. Maybe you need to read up on colour management. Anyway hopefully someone more knowledgeable will be along soon.

You could probably save a lot more space by running disk cleanup or whatever it is on a Mac. I have my older images only on external drives to free up space.

Different browsers have their strengths and weaknesses- I use FF mainly but got Chrome as it's easier on the CPU for radio players and it doesn't eat RAM. I haven't used IE for years.

Edited by spacecadet

43 minutes ago, spacecadet said: