Restrictions and editorial images.

Hi, Im new to the world of stock, so still finding my feet so to speak.

I dont tend (read never so far) to get model releases or property releases so my pics have to be rights managed in the main, for editorial use.

When I list them, I note you can add restrictions, and it lists what you need to do restriction wise for editorial use - however, looking around alamy it seems MANY people who odnt have releases do not add restrictions?

Am I wasting my time adding restrictions? Should I bother? Will it get me into trouble if I dont?

I fear that adding the restrictions is going to put buyers off, perhaps that may be why other sellers dont add them?

Not even sure if I am going down the right track with the images I am submitting, as no sales or zooms yet.. any comments in that area anyone?

cheers all...

okay, here's my two bob's worth. . . not a defnitive answer, not legal advice, just what I do :-)

I accurately describe the release-status of every image, then leave it up to the buyer to decide on usage. I never add restrictions.

The best example I can give is earning a four-figure sum for an unreleased photo of a child dancing in Indonesia. I stated it needed a model release but that I did not have one. The buyer then decided to use it in an advertisement regardless of the absence of a model release. The buyer took a risk . . . I didn't. Had I put restrictions on that image, the buyer might not have even seen it, let alone used it.

Or a front-page for a major travel-guide publisher of a boat that definitely belongs to someone . . . I  marked it as requiring property release but that I didn't have one, the publisher decided to use it commercially regardless. Again, the buyer took a risk . . . I didn't.