Hello from Washington USA

RileyShiery

Hello Alamy Forums!

​I'm just another aspiring photographer :) my primary interest is Nature, I want to be like Jim Brandenburg, Galen Rowell, and Art Wolfe.

I believe humans were given the unique powers we have in order to bear witness to Earth’s marvels,  appreciate them, and act as stewards. I find myself constantly in awe of the world we get to inhabit. I have a BS in Zoology, and a BA in Photography, but I am reminded daily of how little I know. I have been carrying my camera and practicing photography for the past 8 years and I’m just getting to the point where I feel I can start sharing my work publicly. I am so excited and awed by nature and I believe it is my purpose in life to spread that love and enthusiasm.

I have put in lots of time working on my photography, I think I am finally passably competent with my technique and am ready to put my time into making it work. I am just starting out and mostly lost, figuring out how to sustain myself financially by doing photography seems like it’s going to take a lot of trial and error, and time. ​​The message I keep seeing is that it is impossible to make it nowadays as a nature photog, maybe that is true, but I have to make it someday somehow. So here I am J

I am hoping I can learn a lot here at Alamy, and that I can finally start selling something, maybe in 10 more years I will have learned and sold enough of my work to quit my day job and shoot fulltime :D I am excited to meet all of my fellow photog comrades here at Alamy and hope that I can give as much help and guidance as I hope to receive J

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Riley and welcome.