Am I on the right track?

Hi all!

I'm pretty new to stock and I know I've got a long way to go before I'm more likely to make sales, especially regularly and that i'm even further from that. But can anyone let me know if I'm on the right track with how I'm already doing things? For example captioning and key-wording?

Criticism will be taken on board and is truly appreciated!

Many thanks :)

Hi, Welcome to the forums.

I've just had a quick look at your portfolio. The first thing that struck me about your performance photos was that there is very little specific detail in the keywords. The who, why, what, when. 

Michael

I also feel that you need to be a bit more specific with your keywords, and that you need to think rather more carefully about what your potential customers might want.  

Try to imagine the context in which the shot might be used. For example you have a photo of a broken clothes peg, which you have accurately described, but why would a customer buy it? I suspect that the market for broken peg shots is not going to be large, but customers might be interested in the difficulty of recycling plastic items where more than one type of plastic is bonded together, so your keywords should perhaps be suggesting this.

You clearly have access to a fashion scene, and you are correct to exploit any special opportunity that you have, but there are lots of similar shots here. You might be better served by being a bit more selective in what you upload.

To do well ( even survive)  in stock you have to know what people are buying, and aim to supply the market.  Take a look at All of Alamy to see what search terms people have used in the last year. Use the % sign before a word so that you get all the occurrences for that word.

You might also spend some time looking at the Images Found threads on the forum to see what is currently selling.

I'd also be careful on onward supposition keywording as in EJT01X  ... and then baking for a Christmas or roast dinner.