Model release for silhouettes?

Hi,

I'm pretty new in alamy and i have couple question.

I have 14 image on sale for now and there is couple silhouettes, like people in very far and all black.

Do alamy look anything about releases because for now they are on sale even no releases so you think are they ok.

In other photo agency where i sell it's ok sell any picture where you can't see the people face.

But where is the limit here?

Example i take picture from the beach where someone is running front of the sun so picture is silhouette if i want to sell this picture to commercial use do i have to run after him and ask him to fill model release paper :P or not? Even i black him dark silhouette so there's no way to make him recognizable again.

Another example if the people are in the boat like 300 meter way from the beach and i make them a silhouette again do i have to swim there whit my paper if i sell the picture in commercial use?

What about property release Petronas Towers can i sell or not?

Ok theres couple question for now what you think and how you act. :rolleyes:

Edit: Ou you can see my pictures in my profile so there are the examples.

Alamy needs model releases for silhouettes, microscopic "unrecognisable to their mothers" images, body parts etc etc.  Possibly to satisfy their overzealous legal team!  Silly really but it's their rules and we have to abide by them if we still want to submit.

Cheers

Sheila

It depends what you mean by 'commercial' If you mean 'non editorial' then yes, you need releases (and it's far from 'silly') For selling as an editorial image then no, you don't need releases but you will only be able to sell them as RM. Your Petronas Tower shot is fine to sell editorially.

Well, Alamy insist that even here, B0EH9A, there is a person. If I wanted to licence it as RF, the MR would be obligatory.

Hmmm... perhaps I would need PR as well. Some farmer somewhere might recognize the meat of his pigs in the sausages ;(