Didi

Didi

Question

Hi I'm new to stock photography and have loads of photographs taken over the years with a pocket camera, one being Finepix. I submitted three,  just to test if they would meet the standard and unfortunately they failed. No surprise! So I'm looking at purchasing a camera that would produce the sharpest images that Alamy would accept, without wasting their time, hopefully at an affordable price. Can anyone suggest anything?

4 answers to this question

On 21/12/2021 at 13:58, Didi said:

Hi I'm new to stock photography and have loads of photographs taken over the years with a pocket camera, one being Finepix. I submitted three,  just to test if they would meet the standard and unfortunately they failed. No surprise! So I'm looking at purchasing a camera that would produce the sharpest images that Alamy would accept, without wasting their time, hopefully at an affordable price. Can anyone suggest anything?

If you're after a "pocket" camera that can meet Alamy requirments, then the Sony RX100 series is often recommended hereabouts. I've got the Mk III. Search the forum for RX100 and you'll find lots of comments. Beyond that you'll have to say more about the sort of photographs you take (wildlife, landscape, travel,  macro, streetlife etc.) and your budget and portability requirements before you'll get detailed advice.

Mark

Mark is right that the RX100 series is a popular choice for inconspicuous camera use, though I suspect it gets the most acceptable results from someone who is well versed in photography to begin with. Broadly speaking though you need a something like a DSLR or mirrorless version thereof, with interchangeable lens. Bridge and most pocket cameras don't cut the mustard for Alamy sumbissions. Give us some more detail on what kind of photography you are thinking of and you will get a better range of suggestions.