press release image sale - query

sadler2121

Question

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Alamy and have started to get a few sales. I am confused by one of them and wondered if anyone could enlighten me, please?

The sale was editorial royalty free -  One use in a single editorial article used within web versions of titles from the same group. Digital usage includes archive rights for the lifetime of the article. Country: United Kingdom

I have seen the image pop up on several websites including one in France. It looks to me as though the image was used in a press release and has been subsequently published by at least three different news outlets. (and on social media).

Does this sound right, or should a different licence have been obtained by the buyer? 

please excuse my naivety in this - I am still learning! :)

many thanks

5 answers to this question

3 hours ago, sadler2121 said:

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Alamy and have started to get a few sales. I am confused by one of them and wondered if anyone could enlighten me, please?

The sale was editorial royalty free -  One use in a single editorial article used within web versions of titles from the same group. Digital usage includes archive rights for the lifetime of the article. Country: United Kingdom

I have seen the image pop up on several websites including one in France. It looks to me as though the image was used in a press release and has been subsequently published by at least three different news outlets. (and on social media).

Does this sound right, or should a different licence have been obtained by the buyer? 

please excuse my naivety in this - I am still learning! :)

many thanks

Have you marked your images as RF or RM?

Not that it makes a lot of difference these days.

Allan

RF = Royalty Free: once the customer has purchased the image they can use it as many times as they like for no further payment. RM = Rights Managed: the customer pays for a specified use and has to pay again for any further uses.