Keywording, more or less?

I have read with interest some recent posts on keywording.

I do use keywording software. It is Keyword smart. It helps come up with different words meaning the same thing, like "happy" will generate about 20 words.

Now I know a lot of people say the less the number of keywords the better. I tried that. But my point is, surely as long as the keyword relates to a picture then it is ok, regardless of the number. For instance, if I am a picture editor in England or American and want a 'happy smiling boy' that is what I would key in. But if English is not my first language, for instance if I was Japanese or Russian, then maybe I might key in 'male child, joyous, grinning' hoping to get the same picture. These are all words that would translate to 'happy smiling boy', but not words I might have used. So for me, keyword smart suggests the words I would not think of or wouldn't use but still relate directly to the picture.

So if that idea is correct, that keywords cater not just for English speakers, then is it not a good idea to use as many similar meaning words as possible?

Earlier one man on here showed us a picture of a car and he used only the name I believe of that car and it gets good views. But that is ok if you know the name of that car. What if you wanted a classic family type car from that period but didn't know any of the names, (how many Americans know British car names and English know many American car names?). So does not his approach, while getting him good results in his ranking, mean that he is limiting his sales a bit by not including other words that relate directly to the picture.