Pls can You critique my portfolio

MatejPhoto

Hi

I am newbie here. Have only just about hundread photos uploaded here, but can u look at it and say some critics?

https://www.alamy.com/contrib-browse.asp?cid={370A9F64-B927-46E2-9B95-39AB0404B331}&name=Matej+Zavacky

I heard that Alamy is focused mainly on editorial shoots. So my question. Is it worth uploading commercial oriented photos here?

GL to all 😜

Edited by MatejPhoto

The common saying about what gets licensed on Alamy is someone doing something.  This also works for animal shots.   One type of article that goes to the agencies for photos is a serious hobbiest/gardener/identification book where the things photographed have to show enough of the identifying characteristics of the organism.

What you've done is upload a lot of something that enough others have also uploaded so that Alamy has 596 pages of photos of vegetables in baskets (59,518 photos).  Probably most buyers will not look beyond 100 or 200 photographs.   I would have done one of them portrait orientation and shown the woman's face and basket in front of the slightly out-of-focus farmhouse. 

For the pasta, I think the grain is spelt.  Wikipedia should be informative.   Walnut pesto, not wall nut.  

Keywords on your man holding a phone and looking querulously at the camera include pancreatic cancer, pancreatitis, and pancreas --- not at all evident from the photo.

The photos look good, but some of the framing strikes me as a bit off (most particularly not showing a full human in any of the basket carrying photos.

The thing you want to do is upload a range of things, and keyword them carefully, and make sure your photos in the much covered topics here are not just slight variations on what has been done.   Look at the competition from time to time. 

• Like 1

On 16/11/2020 at 00:41, MatejPhoto said:

I heard that Alamy is focused mainly on editorial shoots. So my question. Is it worth uploading commercial oriented photos here?