Programmes to rotate pictures

Dolorous Dave

Question

Hello all,

I stuggle to get the horizon level "in the field" so a few of my pictures need to be rotated ever so slightly. I have just tried using Fotor but it seemed to reduce a 13.9MB file into a 1.92 file - so I assume this would fail QC. What is the best way for me to slightly rotate my pictures without affecting the quality of the picture? A free option would be best. Thanks.

Edited by Dolorous Dave

7 answers to this question

Any decent image editing program, free or not, will allow you to rotate an image which will also mean slight cropping. Some have a ruler that will allow you to set horizontal lines in the image automatically. Reading between the lines are you saying you don’t edit your images at all? 

No, I'm just starting outin stock photography. My photography experiance is all amiture wildlife stuff to record species and personal amusuesment. I have read posts in the forum saying that photo editing should be kept to a minimum and let the customer make any alterations. What editing should I be doing?

Editing is a fundamental part of digital photography. The camera capture is only the beginning. It's not really what you should be doing but what you want to do but it is essential to understand the very basics at least - cropping, straightening, contrast and exposure adjustments. Unless you are very lucky you will need to do some basic dust spotting as well if using a camera with interchangeable lenses or you will soon start failing QC.