Hello from South Africa!

Rudix

Hello everyone from sunny South Africa.

I am new to Alamy (but not to stock photography), now the huge job starts to get photos online! Since I recently retired (early) I now finally have more time for photography.

Looking forward to learning from everyone here.

Cheers, Rudi

Hello, Rudi. The first thing I would say is keywords, keywords, keywords. They are almost more important than the image because if they are not good no one will find your pic. Animals should be specific. What kind of rhino? You should include the Latin name and the place where they are. People will search for a specific park. Your tree should also have its scientific name. Take a look at images that appear high in searches for your subject. Check out the keywords. Anyway, I hope you enjoy yourself here.

Paulette

Hi Paulette.

Thanks for the reply and the information, I need to learn a lot about keywords and how Alamy works in general. I will make sure to update/add things like parks, latin names and any other info that might end up being used in a search. I can see that key wording will be the biggest part of the work for me, I have more than 1.5 million photos on a wide variety of subjects in my archives that I could upload but keywording will keep the volumes down. I have started feeding the system with uploads (1000 over the weekend), now I just need to keep up the pace and refine my metadata. First I am trying a wide selection to see what QC says, they might not like images that I think are great....

Thanks, having fun!

Cheers, Rudi

QC only checks for technical quality. They won't judge the subject. One nice thing about Alamy is you get to do the selections. Start looking at the threads in the Forum about Images Found and Images Sold to get an idea what sells. Also go to your Dashboard and Alamy Measures.. All of Alamy to see what people are searching for. Good luck on the 1000 images. If one fails all fail so most of us do much smaller batches.