Can you help me to improve my portfolio to sell? No sale at all for the moment.

Rodolphe A

Nice images but captions are not very specific.

I am also relatively new to Alamy but have had reasonable success but I try to cram as much relevant info into the captions and keywords as I can ( I also need to go back on some older images knowing what I know now and readdress them 😉)

Buyers can't buy what they can't find and captions/keywords play an important role in what the buyers see.

Eg Image 2BHNH5R is a beautiful pic but the caption could indicate the name of the small village, where the view was from? What is the range of mountains? Does the cloud phenomenon have a name or is it just mist? All of these could be useful for a buyer.

E.g Image 2D8Y1B0 What tower? How old?  Where?  What is the flag?

e.g Image 2EX4G8W Include the latin name of the bird. 'Little beach bird' unfortunately may never be found. (By the way its a Sanderling, Calidris alba). 

Also numbers. 275 images is not a lot. On average there is one license a month for a port of 1000 images so for about 300 you would expect only about 3-4 sales a year as long as buyers can find them

I consider licensing photos like a long drain pipe.

Stuff images in one end and eventually licenses drop out of the other but you have to keep stuffing them old pics in.

Quality of images, relevance, demand, good captions and keywords will make the drain pipe shorter and the licenses will pop out quicker and more frequently.

Hope this helps

Edited by Martin L
  • Love 3
  • Thanks 1

14 minutes ago, Martin L said:

De belles images mais les légendes ne sont pas très précises.

Je suis également relativement nouveau dans Alamy mais j'ai eu un succès raisonnable, mais j'essaie de mettre autant d' informations pertinentes que possible dans les légendes et les mots-clés (je dois aussi revenir sur certaines images plus anciennes en sachant ce que je sais maintenant et les réadresser  😉 )