I have contributed to Alamy almost 10 years now and have well over 15,000 images online.  I average a minimum of several image license sales every week of the year.  

I have been shooting professionally for over 30 years, using digital capture and Adobe Photoshop for almost 15 years, and have never had a digital image rejected for quality reasons by any other stock agent, including Getty, except by Alamy. 

In recent months I have experienced what I perceive to be inconsistencies in the Quality Control measures. After going years without a QC Failure, I have had two batches of images fail in recent months.  The images were captured with a Canon EOS 1DX and Leica M9-P. In both cases I made (from the original files that Failed QC) beautiful 16x20” prints and sent them in to Alamy for further consideration. In both cases Alamy QC said the images were not up to their standards. I completely disagreed with their assessment, but to no avail.

I am seriously considering pulling my images from Alamy. The amount of time spent properly preparing & submitting images against the increasingly low fees is not providing a very good return on investment. 

I am wondering if anyone else is having similar, inconsistent, problems with the quality-control group?

Mark Weidman

H. Mark Weidman Photography

24 Trailside Circle

Salida, CO 81201-7011 USA

Studio: 719-207-4713

Mobile: 719-221-5585

email: mark@weidmanphoto.com

web: http://www.weidmanphoto.com/

• Like 1
  • Dislike 1