Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Barking

Ability to delete when uploaded in error

Recommended Posts

After trying really hard to review my images before uploading, I rushed a batch and as soon as I had hit the key I knew they would fail.

 

Couldn't there be a way of accessing the batches to delete them before they get near QC?

 

I'm now back in the sin bin again. Aaaaaargggghh!

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

After trying really hard to review my images before uploading, I rushed a batch and as soon as I had hit the key I knew they would fail.

 

Couldn't there be a way of accessing the batches to delete them before they get near QC?

 

I'm now back in the sin bin again. Aaaaaargggghh!

 

Try sending in the exact same files with the exact same names, but now corrected. Maybe with the headline and keyword corrected.

And let us know if it has worked.

 

wim

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

After trying really hard to review my images before uploading, I rushed a batch and as soon as I had hit the key I knew they would fail.

Couldn't there be a way of accessing the batches to delete them before they get near QC?

I'm now back in the sin bin again. Aaaaaargggghh!

 

 

Try sending in the exact same files with the exact same names, but now corrected. Maybe with the headline and keyword corrected.

And let us know if it has worked.

 

wim

but, I assume, my account will be locked for 28 days and any subsequent uploads would fail?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can cancel an upload while uploading, that's the only way I know. And canceling will only stop whatever images have not yet uploaded in the queue.

 

I did the same thing last fall. Accidentally uploaded a pic I had saved for a friend of mine (as it was them in a horse pull) but accidentally included it in my upload of all the pics I took of the horse pull. This particular one was distinctly out of focus. I emailed MS right away to ask if that image could be removed from the queue and they said nope, once up, its there.

 

Lucky for me it obviously was not one of the shots pulled for inspection, so as soon as the lot passed, I deleted it from Manage Images.

 

Jill

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, Jill..rather confirms what I thought...we're all human, except the computer!!!!!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

After trying really hard to review my images before uploading, I rushed a batch and as soon as I had hit the key I knew they would fail.

Couldn't there be a way of accessing the batches to delete them before they get near QC?

I'm now back in the sin bin again. Aaaaaargggghh!

 

Try sending in the exact same files with the exact same names, but now corrected. Maybe with the headline and keyword corrected.

And let us know if it has worked.

 

wim

but, I assume, my account will be locked for 28 days and any subsequent uploads would fail?

 

 

Well, no you account won't be "locked", but yes, if the first is a fail, subsequent ones will be too . . . but I think the suggestion from wim was to see if you could get Alamy to accept the "corrected" submission and ignore/delete/lose the first. Oh, and to let us know if it worked too :-)

 

dd

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

dd,

 

indeed.

I have tried it and it worked, but it may have been sheer luck/coincidence: QC may have missed the bad image in the first place or even the dust bunny as it was not that visible without enhancing it.

 

When you want to replace a faulty one that is currently online, MS advise you to use the same file name and they will delete the old one instantly for you. You do have to mail MS: they're quite alert. Can't remember if the new one gets the old Alamy # though.

This may happen when you use the new dust bunny tool in LR or ACR or when you discover CA in old files. Initially QC didn't bother too much with CA, probably because most old film scans had CA in abundance and filters were a bit crude.

 

wim

 

 

edit: typo

Edited by wiskerke
  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I up loaded a set of updated images when I discovered that there were dust bunnies that could be seen if the images were darkened.  MS was happy to replace the old with the new.  The resulting files retained their new Almay #s.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did the same thing with one of my earliest submissions on Alamy.  I brought it to their attention and asked them to delete the submission without checking it, instead they failed the whole batch.  If it isn't too noticeable, I'd keep quiet let it upload and hopefully pass QC then delete it without keywording it.  Honesty isn't always the best policy!  :)

Edited by Lynn Palmer

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.