Hello from Alex in Scotland

Alexander Hog

Would consider myself as a hobbyist/amateur photographer I have been going through a lot of the threads to get more of an understanding of the stock industry and realising how hard it is and agree with a lot of points mentioned Also agree when someone said about being newer contributors that it is easier to leave than to carry on if I have picked it up correctly Now I am wondering if it is worthwhile continuing with carrying on with this and only been uploading small amounts since September 2020 with still got a long slog ahead Have had one sale so far and 2 zooms so far 

Have still got more images to upload Is it true that it is better to give it at least a year or more before deciding whether to carry on or not  

Any kind of advice will be helpful

Hi Alex,

This is a bit of a 'How long is a piece of string?' question. What are you looking to get out of stock photography? The days of decent money for image sales have long gone and the market is very saturated. You will generally not make anywhere near minimum hourly wage for the time that you actually put in. Is it important to you to see your images published? How important is the money?

Steve

Edited by Steve F

Hi Steve 

It was to make enough to buy better camera gear and or going towards a holiday I have heard it is over saturated and seen in some threads on how long it takes to make some sort of living out of it I know I'm a way off my mark when I say this but it was to make up to 500 a month( not all the time) and am years away from making that amount I do enjoy photography and since joining here has helped a bit for improving the skills Still a lot to learn  

Mr Standfast 

I agree It hasn't put me off I do enjoy Photography and will still upload photo's at the moment Maybe give it another year and see what happens 

I appreciate all the good advice Will never be a professional photographer but getting out and about is the key 

Alex