Question about magazine covers

Question

I was a keen guitarist when I was younger and I have a bunch of guitar magazines from the early 1990s. I have photographed some of these and wondered if they can be uploaded to Alamy and under what conditions? I was planning to make them editorial only which I think would be required. But in addition, I'm wondering whether I need to mark them as non-exclusive as per the recent Alamy guidelines?

I've photographed the magazines outside on a wooden table. I've paired them in terms of covers that seem to go together, as I thought this might be more interesting that photographing them individually. The covers feature images of people such as Jeff Beck, Buddy Guy, Mark Knopfler, Joe Satriani etc.

I can see many examples of magazine covers, album covers, book covers etc on Alamy, but I'm a little unclear about the conditions under which such photos can be uploaded. I am happy to tick the non-exclusive box if this is what is required as per Alamy's recent message on this, but I'm not quite sure if what they were referring to includes magazine covers. In the case of album covers, they often do depict artwork, so I'm guessing they may need to be non-inclusive if photographed in isolation without context.

I also photographed some packets of vegetable seeds with the brand on the front. I've had brands of things appear incidentally in other photos I've taken, but in this case they are more isolated, so again, a bit unsure about these. I can ask Alamy directly, but given they are busy and likely to have slower response times at present, I thought I would just run this past the forum first.

I am thinking at the moment to make them editorial only and non-exclusive even though only uploading them to Alamy (and all my images are RM). Just a bit confused about magazine covers, branded items etc, and interested to know your thoughts.

23 answers to this question