Query re: RM, editorial and property?

Sally R

Question

Hi Alamy people,

I'm a newbie and have chosen to go RM on everything I submit to Alamy, as well as making those images exclusive to Alamy. I just wanted to make sure I have a correct understanding about when to mark editorial or not, and when to indicate there is property.

I have images with just one other agency which is royalty free only, and therefore any people or property without releases must be made editorial with them. My understanding with RM here on Alamy is that editorial is not mandatory if you indicate there are no releases. For example, the city buildings where I live have the names of mining companies across the top, and those images with the royalty free agency must be made editorial or removed in post processing if commercial, and I'm assuming it's the same for RF on Alamy. Here on Alamy I can see plenty of examples of these buildings as RM with the mining company names visible, and obviously the buildings themselves are property. My understanding is that when making an image RM when you don't have releases, you are handing the responsibility of seeking releases if required over to the purchaser for their one time use, if they are planning to use it commercially rather than editorially. I just wanted to check if I understand that correctly?

Further to this, I have images that contain property such as a jetty on a river owned by a local council. I also have images looking across a river with property across the other side but it is not very discernable. Where there are boats on the river I have edited out all tags and logos. But I'm guessing I still mark this as property also? I've just read the thread about countryside and property, so I realise it can be a bit of a difficult area. But I'm guessing any property in the image at all needs to be marked as such.