Capture One Pro – (bad) impressions?

I've been curious about Capture One Pro and decided to try the demo. While importing my Lightroom catalogue, it used up all available memory (RAM) so that my computer became unresponsive and I had to turn it off. After deleting the partly imported Lightroom catalogue and the images in it from the Capture One Pro catalogue, I tried to empty the trash in Capture One Pro to get rid of the previews; this caused Capture One Pro to become unresponsive and I had to use 'Force Quit' to close it. I tried several times, each time with the same result. Finally, I ended up deleting the whole thing from my hard drive.

Have I for some reason been unlucky, or have other Capture One Pro users had similar experiences?

(Computer: MacBook Pro 2,9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM; macOS 10.14.)

I have no experience of Capture One Pro but I see you are using MacOs 10.14 which is very new and is probably not the best way to test out and assess software. An alternative way to do this would be to install an older version of MacOS on a fast external drive (Thunderbolt or SSD) and use that for testing. Capture One seems very expensive for what it is - I don't think I will be going that route in the near future myself. 

• Like 1

I tried C1P some time ago and did not like the way it kept building folders on it's own which were not required. Removed it from system.

Much prefer LR.

Allan

• Like 1

I have used Capture 1 since version 6 and haven't seen a crash in years. I find it to be absolutely the best raw processing software for studio images. That being said, when I'm doing the sort of work that many of you do - places or events for example - it becomes less appealing. Do you really need this sort of power?

• Like 1