I am new to Alamy and sent the requsit 4 submissions for initial QC.  They are all Tango drum scans of 4x5 (5x4) film which have been used for fine art prints as large as 40x50 inch.  Nobody ever complained about sharpness.  All files are 200+ MB Tiff before JPEG conversion.  They are 9000x7200 pixels which is about 8 times the output from a DSLR.  All were rejected as "Soft or lacking definition".

When scaled down to 3600x2880 pixel which is about a 30 MB file they are tack sharp.  If QC looks at everything with 100% zoom it is like looking at a transparency with a 30x microscope instead of a 4x loupe.  Under those conditions everything looks grainy and fuzzy.

Has anybody had the same experience?  Is it a matter of giving too much information?  If so, changing my workflow to down-res everything to 3600 pixel max. dimension should hopefully fix the problem.

Thanks,

Tom

There is probably not a lot of advantage in submitting huge files (uncompressed image (pixel)  size of about 192 Mb I calculate for yours) for Alamy so I would recommend making life simple and just submitting downsized versions. I'm using a D800 which gives file pixel sizes just over half of that (around 106 Mb). I make sure that these do look pretty sharp at 100% before I submit them - if I'm in doubt I'll downsize a bit which makes them snap sharp but I never apply any sharpening. Generally I submit at full size but I don't think I've sold an image yet because of its size - a lot of stuff sold here is for editorial and similar use.

I've no experience with drum scans but scans from my Coolscan 4000, when compared with anything from my DSLRs, look incredibly grainy and gritty - so much so that I've never actually submited any scans to Alamy although I know a lot of people do so you should have no problem.

To pass QC for the first time, it's best in my opinion to use safe images - sharp and clean. Alamy QC are only looking at technical quality, not content.