Sign in to follow this  
Marb

Fine Art photography

I am very interested in the more fine Art creative photography for it's own sake. The kind of images you see in the BJP, Creative review and exhibitions etc. In an ideal world I would love to make a living from this kind of work (I did a workshop with BW landscape photographer John Davies when I was a photo student in the mid 80's.) but have lost touch with this due to making stock images. Has anyone here got a similar background, interest other than the "bread and butter" stock images ? Do these kind of images do well at Alamy ? 

Edited by Marb

In the 1940 images I have sold since being on Alamy, there are probably a dozen that I would consider Art, ie that I would hang on my wall. Alamy really is mainly editorial.

Put them up anyway if you have them on your drive, but I wouldn't get into producing fine art just for Alamy.

Edited by Colin Woods
Added text

I risk killing this thread stone dead, but would someone care to define 'Fine Art Photography'? I recently saw an Instagram post of a dreadfully dull silhouette of some trees that had been converted to black and white. This, according to the photographer's comment, made it 'fine art'. An extreme example, but one thing is for sure - calling something fine art doesn't make it fine art, which implies there are criteria even if it's debatable at the margins.

Sure, go and have a look around the photo section of Tate Modern for some unbelievable stuff dressed up as fine art. Stuff that most photographers would delete without a second look. My definition is banal but it works for me - would I give it house space.

• Upvote 1

11 hours ago, Marb said: