Portfolio critics

Halit Olmez

Hello everyone. I'm new at Alamy. Could you take look at my portfolio and give some valuable critics. Thank you.

Hi and welcome!

Honestly, you need to step up your game, both technically and commercially if you want to make it here.

Others are gonna give me red arrows but I'll say it anyway...a lot of your images belong in Microstock, they're just generic which can be fine, but here in Alamy you need UNIQUE images which you haven't yet demonstrated. Perhaps the Luxembourg castle in case a buyer wants to illustrate an article about Luxembourg but it's not unique enough imo. Also, Alamy buyers are mainly editorial and you have few such editorial type images.

Not sure about the polaroid look for some, buyers either love it or hate it. Best to keep it simple for all tastes. 

Still life? Not sure they're so popular on here and the white doesn't look that white (I'm not a still life expert anyway).

I see some hope, look at this ferris wheel. Don't just put a generic caption. Maybe it's got a significance and is an important landmark in a city, so put it in the captions / keywords. And go easy on the post-processing! :) 

Ferris wheel and blue sky Stock Photo

40 minutes ago, Brasilnut said:

Hi and welcome!

Honestly, you need to step up your game, both technically and commercially if you want to make it here.

Others are gonna give me red arrows but I'll say it anyway...a lot of your images belong in Microstock, they're just generic which can be fine, but here in Alamy you need UNIQUE images which you haven't yet demonstrated. Perhaps the Luxembourg castle in case a buyer wants to illustrate an article about Luxembourg but it's not unique enough imo. Also, Alamy buyers are mainly editorial and you have few such editorial type images.

Not sure about the polaroid look for some, buyers either love it or hate it. Best to keep it simple for all tastes.