My experience with Alamy coming from a Microstock background but disappointed with earnings after 2 years

Hi all,

I'm new here and so far have received a warm welcome - thanks.

So my background is as a travel photographer and first ventured into Microstock around 2012. I found Alamy relatively late on (nearly 2 years ago) and been submitting regularly since (2,700 portfolio).

I've heeded much of the advice that Alamy is predominately editorial-based so I've avoided uploading much of of usual Microstock stuff on Alamy, focusing instead of editorials (Live News + 50% RF / 50% RM). 

So far I've sold 13 images on Alamy with 2/3 pending for just short of $400. I find this quite low. So looking for some advice on how to improve. I'm careful with captions and keywords and doing a general audit now to improve discover ability minus the spamming. So i'm all ears. 

In particular it boggles my mind that one such editorial image of a young refugee girl holding up an SOS sign has netted me $1k but has never been licensed at Alamy. For me it's quite obvious because it's much cheaper for buyers to look for similar images on Micros, but the same does not hold true for new stuff which just sits there month after month after month on Alamy. I see zooms but I don't see buyers. I've got to a point where I've hesitantly started moving some of my editorial portfolio, which is a pity since Micros is on a downward spiral when it comes to earnings and at least there's hope with Alamy and some other Midstock agencies. 

Alex

13 minutes ago, Brasilnut said:

In particular it boggles my mind that one such editorial image of a young refugee girl holding up an SOS sign on Shutterstock has netted me $1k but has never been licensed at Alamy. For me it's quite obvious because it's much cheaper for buyers to look for similar images on Micros

There's a clue here, of course. If you're offering pix on both platforms, the outcome is as obvious as you say.