"Digital Camera Not Suitable for Alamy"

Hello All, 

I am brand new to Alamy, my first 4 photos were not accepted with the following response "Digital Camera not Suitable for Alamy"...I have read the QC PDF and thought I had met the criteria and will definitely keep trying.  

I have two questions:

1.  Is there a specific list of camera specifications available?  I am shooting with a Nikon P510, 16MP.

2.  Is there a chance my camera is suitable but there were other reasons why my photos were not accepted?

Just curious if I should get a better camera before going forward.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tim

This issue has been discussed repeatedly over the years. That Nikon P510 has a sensor "1/2.3-in. type CMOS; total pixels: approx. 16.79 million" which is just about as small as they get and also seems to be discontinued. You will never get through QC with that camera. Try somewhere else or get a decent camera. I suggest that you aim for a minimum of 1 inch sensor and preferably APS-C. If you cannot afford a new camera, e-bay will have plenty of second hand cameras that will enable you to pass QC as long as you can master the preparation stage with a decent program. If the images don't look reasonably sharp at 100% you won't pass. Look at the "How to sell images on Alamy" instructions and particularly the Guidelines.

The problem is the optics. Few fixed-lens cameras can pass QC- there's discussion on the forum about which ones- and a 42x zoom has no chance.

Even a kit lens on a DSLR will pass- I've never used anything else.

If you post your images at 100% opinions will be offered.

Hi Tim

Additionally, the P510 doesn't have a RAW option. Working with JPEGs is not ideal.

If you want to use a compact camera, pictures taken with the Sony RX100, which has a one-inch sensor, are readily accepted by Alamy.

Alamy no longer has a list of recommended cameras.

Good luck with it.

Gareth