New to Stock...hello and licensing question!

KateR

Hi everyone! Apologies in advance if this rambles, I like what i'm seeing from Alamy and the experts on the forums so just wanted to say hello and ask about a couple of things!

I'm very new to Stock, and my objectives are 1) having a driver for working harder on my photography skills, and 2) it'd be great to make enough to cover some kit costs. I applied to the few biggest microstock agencies plus Alamy, which I didn't expect to get accepted to but was pleased that I did. I've found that pretty much every part of working with Alamy is better than any of the others -  upload process isn't agonizingly slow,  don't have to keyword until AFTER I pass QC (which is always super fast!), lack of random and contradictory rejections, etc etc.

I'm still pretty confused about the legal and licensing side of things. Every agency seems to take a different view...I've had rejections on shots including the Olympic Stadium (which i live next door to!) for infringing intellectual property for agency A but then it's been passed fine by Agency B.

So, I've been avoiding shooting anything which includes people, landmark buildings, or logos - which in London is pretty restrictive. Then when I looked through the portfolios of some of the experts on the forum, I can see that there are many shots which have of all of those things, but not marked as having property releases and apparently on an RF license (the "Marketing package" is fully commercial, right?!).  I've read a ton of articles but am not really any the wiser, and what I see on people's ports doesn't seem to tally with the advice i'm reading. So i'd love some guidance on what I should be doing, if anyone can help?

Just mark images with people and property for which you don't have releases as RM and let the publisher worry about it.

FWIW the Olympic park is probably well covered. I live up the road and my only images with those keywords take a rather different approach.