Nikon D7100.

The company that my wife works for is about to give her some money to spend on a present for herself, and she fancies replacing her well used Nikon d90 with a Nikon D7100 and would like me to sort it out. I have read plenty of reviews on the web ( mostly good )  I have tried talking her into getting a D600, but she must have what she is happy with.. 

Is or has anyone been using a D7100 for shooting stock and had either good or bad experiences with it ?

I have had a look and it doesn't show as being on the acceptable camera list for alamy, but maybe that's just because it is fairly new ?

Thanks, Steve.

Hello Steve, I have no experience with the D7100 but it will definately be fine for Alamy, as you mentioned, it is fairly new which is probably why it is not on the list.

But if it is being bought for her as a gift, a full framed D600 would be better as you know. But if the lady was to hold both, she may lean towards the lighter and smaller D7100.

Go and have a test drive and see which one she feels more comfortable with. I'm sure she'll get great shots with either camera.

I think that she feels that the d7100 is going to be the closest feel to the D90 that she has been using, as for the lenses we share our lenses so she has the use of my FX lenses that I use on my D700 as well as the DX lenses that we use on my D300s and her D90.

Very pleased with my D7100. With good techniqe it provides sharper images than my D7000 from the same lenses. A handful of images now on sale with Alamy & no QC issues.

I considered the D600 but the expense of a pro FX zoom to replace my 17-55mm DX lens was the deciding factor for me.

From what I understand the cameras are pretty similar in use and image quality. The D7100 has a few better features than the D600 because it's a little newer. The D600 is a little more forgiving due to a lower pixel density. Camera shake and focus error show up less on the D600.