Failing QC: Help for a Novice

Hi all

At the risk of sounding clueless and completely out of my depth..

I have just joined Alamy as I have some lovely photos of flowers and plants & such, and it is a waste to have them sat on my Mac unused!

Although I studied the art of photography at college, when it comes to post production, using a Mac and file handling, I am completely self taught, and still have a great deal to learn.

I'd like to think that I am fairly competent with my camera & have the potential to submit some great images, but I am saddened to think that my lack of technical knowledge is proving to be my downfall, as I feel my creativity and capability to produce a beautiful image should not be dictated by my knowledge of metadata, file sizes etc!

I have made my first attempt at uploading 4 images and they unfortunately failed QC. Although as a group they all failed, there was only an explanation next to one image, which stated it failed on 'soft or lacking definition'. Where I could maybe see where this could apply to the one image addressed, (my images have been taken at close range with a 50ml 1.4 lens, and have a very shallow DOF) I am confused to why the others did not pass, as I feel they are comparable in subject style to many of the photos I see on the site. At full size they still have focus in my opinion.

I am sorry to say my images are not on the web to add a link for you to see, (only on Facebook where they are low res)

I generally shoot in RAW (and occasionally high quality jpeg) using a Canon 30D & an Olympus E400, I edit in Lightroom and then further in photoshop. I try to keep editing to a minimum.