Time for Alamy to repost their advice re: not responding to spam?

just a thought . . .

dd

Yes maybe a good idea, and place the advice at the top of the forum area,  as I for one only come across the advice at the bottom of the forum after replying on the said post, still I know I am not perfect. :)

What I don't understand is that the spam provides a name, address and telephone number! why doesn't Alamy ring them and tell them to halt and desist? are they saying this advertising is being done without their knowledge?

David

It would be better if forum would be accessible only for those with portfolio... at least 4 images.

Just one more thought...

I disagree. Many posts are from total newbies who have yet to submit and who have questions concerning that first yet-to-be-submitted batch. I'd suggest they are more in need of access to the forum's experience/advice than folk posting about a two-day delay in QC or a 3% drop in views since yesterday.

dd

On second thought I do agree with you, Dusty.

What I don't understand is that the spam provides a name, address and telephone number! why doesn't Alamy ring them and tell them to halt and desist? are they saying this advertising is being done without their knowledge?

David

Thanks David for noticing this.

With risk that A blows my "reputation" below 0, I would dare to conclude that A has a deal with the spammer.

Maybe the creation of a spam button could help.

If a large number of clicks on this button occurred (imagine 15 clicks, or if 75% of those who opened the discussion clicked the spam button and those clicks got to 10/15/20), the discussion started by that spammer would be hidden until reviewed by Alamy. If the spam message was written in a legitimate post than only that message would be hidden until review by Alamy.

I'm not a fan of "popular justice" but this could help.