Newbie here. Apologies if this has been asked before.

I understand that it can takes months of contributing to make a first sale; I get that sales really result from having a portfolio of thousands of decent quality photos. My question is whether it is possible to make sales by posting a large number of high quality images on Alamy, without also having a profile as a photographer elsewhere, whether in social media, or as a professional or semi-professional photographer?

Can anyone elucidate, please?

Yes you can make sales on Alamy without any profile as a photographer elsewhere. I've got virtually no presence on social media. I guess there's a slim possibility my sales might be slightly higher if I drove more potential customers to my Alamy images via social media or a personal website, but I'd also be alerting those customers to the masses of competing images there are here on Alamy. :unsure:

Most Alamy sales come from searches on subject matter using keywords. IMHO it's very, very rare to have a search for images by a specific photographer, other than when they have already searched by keywords first and then click the "more" button under a thumbnail of an image they like.

Thanks, M.Chapman and arterra. That's very encouraging.

Interesting insight from funkyworm, too. I hear your frustration. Fortunately for me, I guess, I am not setting out to be a pro photographer, but I enjoy photography and if I can earn anything at all from it, that would be a bonus.

PGrGr .. going on a slight tangent.. I just had a quick look at your images and I think you want to cut down on the number of similar images you upload. For example, how many images do you need of the fence? .. they are pretty much all the same.