Approuved cameras

Hi there!

I'm new here, just got my first submission rejected. My question is about the approuved cameras. It says on the list that what's approuved is DSLR or "equivalent". My first submission got rejected because "digital camera not approuved" and the pictures were taken with a bridge (Lumix DMC FZ38). I'm a student and cannot offer a reflex camera. I do own a compact Canon G9X, that I used to take pictures for my second submission try, which is pending. But if this camera is not approuved, then I guess I'll just have to give up on the Alamy idea :(

Is there anyone here who can tell me if my Canon is good enough?

Thx

Delphine

Hi Delphine.  I'll jump in as no one else has, though I am not any kind of expert. I can see that the Canon G9X is a tiny camera with a 1" sensor. From what I have read in other posts a 1" sensor is about the minimum size likely to produce an acceptable result. Assuming the lens on this camera is a reasonable quality, I would reckon you have a chance of getting some images accepted, especially if they are taken in good lighting.

I've always used Sony DSLRs and the last two have been second-hand SLTs (now on an A58) got for about £230 with kit zoom. Probably about as low as you can go in money and be sure of QC, assuming your technique is up to scratch. There are older models but they're not much less. I found the A350 viewfinder challenging but then I wear specs.