Hi

I have submitted my first images and failed QC (which isn't a great surprise as I'm quite new to this!). The reason given for 2 of them was that they are soft or lacking in definition, but no reasons given for the others.

I have been shooting in JPEG format as this seems to give acceptable results, but I'm wondering if I need to switch to RAW to pass QC. I thought I had a lot of good photographs, but on closer inspection I can see problems on a lot of them! Would shooting in RAW help a lot with the image quality?

I use a 18-55mm lens, but I'm wondering if I should invest in a more powerful one.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

When you're new to this, it can come as quite a shock to see the flaws in your images when you need to view them at 100% for the first time. I think I'm right in saying that for the initial four, if there are no faults given for any of the images then those images would pass. So a starting point would be to compare one of the failed images with one of the good ones at 100% and you may start to see where the problem lies.

For me, the golden rule with regard to sharpness has been that if there is any doubt whatsoever, don't submit. It's easy to persuade yourself that something is sharp if you really like the image; I've done that twice and each time was punished with a fail as a result. With 65 million pics in the collection one good image is not going to make a difference - you need thousands of good images to make an impact.

Alan

I submitted jpegs for years with no problems per se. RAW isn't a get-out-of-jail-free card and it won't compensate for other failings, but it can help at high ISOs and it handles brightness range far better- no more blown-out skies. For the record I now shoot RAW after finding out it wasn't much different to handle in LR where you are exporting a copy anyway. The only minor issue is storage space. RAWs are pretty huge.

I wouldn't go back.