Hazy or Foggy Images - Black and white points

Hi,

I'm new to Alamy (just a few days old) and trying to familiarize myself with the requirements and guidelines for submitted images.

This morning I photographed some images of the hazy skyline in Vancouver (due to the forest fires in BC) thinking that perhaps they might be newsworthy. I photographed the scene as I would a foggy scene, exposing to the right. Anyhow in post-processing moving the black point to say 5 makes for an image that doesn't portray the scene as seen... ie; the haze makes for a low contast scene with a very small dynamic range.

So at this time I'm thinking that I shouldn't bother processing the images because if I follow the guidelines for setting the white and black points the scene is not true therefore not newworthy... If I process the image as seen I would guess that the image(s) would be rejected for quality.

Thank you in advance.

I assume you've tried to brighten it again by moving the midtone slider to the left. They do seem to reject images if black and white points are not where they want.  Otherwise the only thing to do in fog/mist is make sure you have a foreground object with a good range of tone.

BTW love the  pigeon guillemot and pelican.

Hi,

I'm new to Alamy (just a few days old) and trying to familiarize myself with the requirements and guidelines for submitted images.

This morning I photographed some images of the hazy skyline in Vancouver (due to the forest fires in BC) thinking that perhaps they might be newsworthy. I photographed the scene as I would a foggy scene, exposing to the right. Anyhow in post-processing moving the black point to say 5 makes for an image that doesn't portray the scene as seen... ie; the haze makes for a low contast scene with a very small dynamic range.