a new p.c. or laptop ? enlightenment sought

I have to replace my ancient PC. Discounting Apple Macs on grounds of cost, could anybody recommend something on a budget of £600 ish - either a specific model or a list of essential specs or a good supplier to start looking at.

I'm a complete technophobe but one thought I'd had was a decent laptop ( for use on those extended foreign travels that I like to think I'll start taking soon ) coupled with a decent desk top monitor that I could link it to when at home. Or are there too many limitations with laptops ?

In general at this price point is it better to try and pick up a deal from a big supplier rather than getting the local pc man to supply one ?

Any light that can be shone into this warehouse of mystery would be appreciated.  

I have the luxury of getting the use of so much kit being in the IT sector. I'm not an expert on the kit because business procrument follows a different path to personal matters based on the cost vs requirement aspect. Out of all the kit i've used, from £300 Fujitsu and Toshiba stuff to Mac Book Pros I cant fault the Apple stuff at all. I switched over to Apple recently and my life just got easier. 

I detest Windows 8 with a passion and feel it's where M$ has fallen down, however, Windows 10 is said to address the annoying issues, while maintaining the metro look. 

In my experience though, whether you detest windows or not, most of time you can get away with a Core i5 CPU, and at least 4Gb of RAM. Storage options are your call and I'd advise a hybrid SSD, gives you speed and larger storage. Price will depend on the extras like build quality, super duper sounds system, IPS display and the like. 

I have an iMac 27" but I also use a little 14" Dell E6400 laptop with Core2Duo and 4Gb Ram and SSD and it's a flier. Works on Photoshop no bother.