Slightly wobbly newcomer

Hello

I recently decided to ditch my current business (antiques) for stock photography, did loads of research, joined Alamy, bought a tripod and ordered a camera, in that order. My research included reading many threads here (often scary, but I feel like I know some of you already :)) Am ready to take the plunge.

I was a keen amateur photographer years ago but haven't taken pictures seriously for some time. I'm a bit daunted by the new technology I've got to get my head around but I daresay I'll get to grips with it. Most of it. Enough of it.

The best strategy seems to be to spend the next few months taking and editing as many (suitable) photos as possible and, once accepted, upload a few hundred at once or in batches so that I can hopefully maintain a middle ranking. Does this make sense?

I shall probably ask various questions if I can't turn up answers here or elsewhere; will try not be tiresome, though.

Anyway, a happy and prosperous new year to all, hope to make your various acquaintance soon.

Jan

Hi Jan...

The best strategy, IMO, is to upload your best pix (size of upload doesn't matter) and keyword them carefully. If people like your pix (by zooming... and buying) your ranking will rise. But most people here would agree that submitting pix to Alamy isn't likely to provide a 'proper' income, and the situation is getting worse rather than better. Giving up one business - antiques - for stock photography, even before you've bought a camera, seems rather optimistic. The people in the forum are generally happy to answer questions, and only a few of them are grumpy... :)

Hi Jan

If you look on this forum at "how was your 2013?" and "How was your december?" you will realise that this is not an easy option or a road paved with gold. I wouldn't give up the antiques business you mention. Very few people can make a living in the marketplace of stock (or any other kind) of photography these days.